Driving under the influence is one of the most prevalent causes of car accidents in New York. The New York State Department of Motor Vehicles shows 8,384 collisions due to impaired driving and 4,288 non-fatal injuries.

She was driving while intoxicated and under the effects of drugs or alcohol is illegal in the state of New York. You cannot drive with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .08 percent or higher.

DUI charges can result in jail time, fines, and other penalties, such as license suspension. A person can be charged with a first-offense DUI or repeat offenses, such as a second or third offense and beyond.

What are DUI Charges in New York?

Law enforcement might pull you over for suspicion of drunk driving if you are showing signs of impaired driving. This might include swerving, speeding, or other examples of careless driving.

The penalties for a DUI offense will vary, though it often depends on how high your BAC level was at the time of your arrest. These include:

  • A first offense might result in $500 to $1,000 in fines and license revocation
  • A second offense might result in five days in jail or community service, in addition to higher fines
  • A third offense might result in 10 days in jail and 60 days of community service

There are additional penalties for drugged driving, repeat offenses, and refusing a chemical test.

Can a DUI Be Dismissed?

If you are acquitted of a DUI charge due to lack of evidence, missing information or the police officer did not have reasonable suspicion to pull you over; your DUI charges could be dropped.

Field sobriety tests are somewhat accurate, though it’s possible to challenge the results, or a person may decline participation. It can be harder to convict a person of a DUI without this information.

Whether it’s your first or third offense, our attorneys will review your DUI charge and help you understand your charges, possible implications, and legal resolutions. Contact our law firm to discuss your DUI charges today: (516) 809-7735.

How Can an Attorney Help Me?

A DUI can stay on your record for 15 years. This black mark can lead to debt, legal burdens, and long-term consequences. If there’s a chance to get a lesser sentence or penalty, it’s wise to take it.

An attorney can help you fight your conviction with the correct argument. It’s not simple, though having an attorney increases your chances of success. For example, we can prove there isn’t enough lawful evidence against you to proceed with a case, the police made a mistake, or there’s insufficient evidence against you.

Our law firm will examine your case and discuss your charges, as well as how our legal services can support you. Contact our legal team today: (516) 809-7735.